Week 1 – Done!

Standard

Hey Everyone!

Like many have already shared – I endeavour to get to as many of the songs as possible in the next little bit – what I have listened to so far has been really great!  In addition to the songs – there is so much to get out of the rest of the posts – so thanks for all of it folks!!

Despite what I thought I already knew about my song-writing process, there have been some interesting reveals in week!  How fun!!!  Looking at titles, first lines and themes was a really great exercise.

Titles that caught my eye:

– Accidental Babies – Damien Rice

– Chaos & Piss – Pink

– That Kind of Lonely – Patty Griffin

Favourite first lines:

“Go ahead push your luck find out how much love the world can hold” – Dar Williams – After All

“Well there’s wine on the page, and my heart’s in a rage and I must call the cops on myself” – Steve Poltz – Kicking Distance

“I open my hands up to see what I’ve got, my days slip like coins into a slot – they are gone…” – Indigo Girls – Love of our Lives

Themes

–  heartbreak

–  redemption

–  love

Titles/Lines/Theme:

1 Little Boy Blue – Theme – the journey of the underdog

First line – ‘Beautiful and perfect laying on your Mama’s chest’

2. ‘Deer in the Headlines’ – Theme – trying not to live in fear

First line – ‘It’s either buzzing or it’s beeping either way – it stops me sleeping’

3. ‘Leave Tennessee Alone’ – Theme – the end of the relationship

First line – ‘By the time I made my way into Kentucky – the sunset hit ne right between the eyes’

4. ‘Left Over Lonely’ – trying to rid oneself of emotional baggage

First line – ‘For so many reasons I keep waiting on the leaving that you haven’t done’

5. ‘I’m no good with bad news’ – breaking up

First line  – ‘Contents may have shifted at point along the way’

Week 1 Song

“Little Boy Blue”

Beautiful and perfect laying on his mama’s chest

All fresh and new for all the world to see

He got here safe and sound we never felt so blessed

A brand new branch upon our family tree

First born only son

Marches to a lonely drum

Little boy blue – is not okay

Little boy blue – won’t be out to play

It’s hard to put a finger on – what is right and what is wrong

But something is going on  – with little boy blue

For awhile he did the best he could to find a place to fit

T-ball, scouts and house-league soccer games

A friend or two along the way but he may not be equipped

To carry on the family name

First born only son

Keeps marching to a lonely drum

Little boy blue – is not okay

Little boy blue – can not come out to play

It’s hard to put a finger on – what is right and what is wrong

But something is going on – with little boy blue

Time has turned this boy into a man

I hope someday he finds a safe place to land

Little boy blue – is not okay

Little boy blue – can not come out to play

It’s hard to put a finger on – what is right and what is wrong

But something is going – with little boy blue

C. DeMaeyer 2014

Leave a comment